2005 Features

Pictures (see below)

Visitors since 28 April 2004 

Top Manx sites

Manx Harriers 
Easter Festival 
Parish Walk 
100 Mile Walk 
Fell Runners 
Western AC 

Recent features

Millennium Way Relay

Santa Dash

St Johns Fell Race

Colin Watterson Oldies

Athlete of 2005






Stan'sSteve's Martin'sAdrian'sBridget'sGraham'sParish Walk


Murray Lambden

Dave Kneen

Martin Critchley

Paul Jackson



What were your highlights of the day? Have your say on the forum.

Tony Okell took the early lead in the Manx Cross Country Championships. Left to right: Andy Fox (arm only), Nigel Armstong, Paul Sheard, Mike Garrett, Darren Gray (34),  Simon Skillicorn, John Halligan, Kevin Loundes, Tony Okell and Nick Percival.

Garrett, chases Armstong, Sheard, Loundes, Fox, Gray, Skillicorn, Halligan and Okell.

But it wasn't long before John Halligan left all challengers in his wake. Women's winner Natalie Wood (102) set the pace from the start from Jacqui Fletcher with Gail Musson and Sarah Nelson giving chase.  

Top three: Skillicorn, Halligan and Okell. (Pictures by Murray Lambden)

And finally, for a bit of fun, who had the best grimace? Left to right: Dave Newton, Nigel Armstrong, Michael George and Andy Fox. Only one winner for me - he has been the best at it for 30 years or so! A couple of the ladies may have qualified as well but I wasn't going to push my luck too far!


It was wonderful to see the junior classes so well supported in the Isle of Man Cross Country Championships at Pulrose on Sunday. Here are the competitors in the under 9 classes and you can identify the happy runners from the results below.  Picture by Murray Lambden; results by Graham Davies from

1 155 Joseph Morling Manx Harriers 3.20
2 259 Will Morris Western AC 3.24
3 17 Terence George Manx Harriers 3.39
4 142 Owen Dudley School 3.40
5 36 Joshua Looker Manx Harriers 3.46
6 255 Sebastian Pine Dhoon Sch 3.49
7 194 Patrick Cox Manx Harriers 3.57
8 6 Sam Corlett Western AC 4.03
9 15 Ramsey Ball Dhoon 4.14
10 97 Archie Veale Phurt Le Moirrey 4.27
  42 Nick Quayle Clothworkers DNF
1 25 Sosanna Cox Manx Harriers 3.34
2 73 Rebecca Nathan Western AC 3.35
3 29 Katie Astin Ashley Hill 3.41
4 110 Aimee Grainger Onchan 5.34




 Under 9 Boys





Manx Harriers

 Morling, George, Looker, Cox



Triple crown! Andy Cannell (winner in 2004 and 2005 who was unable to defend his title due to injury) watches alongside 1995 winner Chris Quine who was on marshalling duties. Raymond Cox (1996 champion in hat and wellies!) is also marshalling.  (picture Murray Lambden)

Greeba Fell Race this Saturday

Final Cross Country on 12 February

Wedding news

Lancs Cross Country

Manx Harriers Open

John Cannell is an independent site designed, edited and funded by Murray Lambden.

The site was updated daily for three and a half years until June 2004 when the webeditor took a sabbatical. It now serves as a portal for Manx athletes with special features on a few events and ad hoc publishing when time permits without giving in to the addiction! Old features can be found by using the Google search below or by using the old features page.The clubs are encouraged to develop their own sites to promote their events. will complement the coverage with statistics and extra pictures but, most of all, if will try and highlight the content of other sites and give everyone a chance to air their views on the forum. which is edited by Paul Jackson, is the highly recommended sister site of

Policy & site history

copyright (c) 2005 Murray Lambden. All rights reserved.
[email protected]

Google Search all the Manx sites
Search WWW Search Search Search Search Search Western AC.iomf,net Search